The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


PREMIERE: Torn Sail Share New Track, 'A Beautiful Life'
The Quietus , June 22nd, 2020 13:49

The new single from the Mark Lanegan favourites is out now

Nottingham’s Torn Sail – which frontman Huw Costin rescued from the ashes of The Cold Light Of Day, a project formed by Richard Warren aka Echoboy to represent Soulsavers' live incarnation – have announced details of a new single, 'A Beautiful Life', taken from their forthcoming album, Leisure & Technology.

The single comes with a video directed by Rob Cook, which you can watch above ahead of the album's release this summer.

Leisure & Technology is the follow-up to 2017’s This Short Sweet Life, described as "a masterpiece" by Mark Lanegan, who contributed guest vocals. The band's second album, Leisure & Technology features a guest vocal from veteran singer-songwriter-guitarist Michael Chapman, who says of his contribution, "No one ever asks me to sing, so when I got the call from Huw I was intrigued, to say the least. I'd already seen them play – really neat guitar player, bass just where it should be – so I knew it was going to be interesting. It certainly was."

"I have these rare moments in life, maybe five or six times so far," Costin says of the single, "where everything comes back to me, everything stops, things come to a head. I remember these moments as places and weather and the clothes I was wearing, and how I felt before and after. The last moment like that was captured in this song. It's one of the few times in my life where a song came fully formed, not like a dragon of an idea to be endlessly chased."

Leisure & Technology also features contributions from Doggen Foster, who plays with Spiritualized and Julian Cope; Jonny Aitken, who was drummer on Spiritualized's Amazing Grace; E.R. Thorpe (who also appeared on This Short Sweet Life); and poet Dean Geary.

Cwm Saerbren and Tallbird will release Leisure & Technology on August 21, 2020..