The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Laraaji To Release New Piano-Based Album
Christian Eede , May 13th, 2020 18:08

The record is made up of 12 improvised piano pieces

Laraaji is releasing a new album this July.

Titled Sun Piano, the album is comprised of 12 improvised piano pieces that the artist performed in a Brooklyn church, as recorded by Jeff Zeigler. You can watch a trailer for the album above and check out lead track 'Temple Of New Light' just below.

Sun Piano, which is out on July 17 via All Saints, marks the first instalment of a trilogy of piano-focused records from Laraaji – also set to include an album, titled Moon Piano, and an EP of piano and autoharp duets – which were mostly recorded during that same Brooklyn church session. Release dates for those are yet to be announced.