The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


PREMIERE: Kooba Tercu Share 'Qasan'
Christian Eede , March 24th, 2020 14:06

The Greek band have signed to Rocket Recordings for their next album

Rocket Recordings has announced details of their next release, a new album from Greece's Kooba Tercu.

Titled Proto Tekno, the album is preceded by lead track 'Qasan', which you can watch a video for above.

Led by Johnny Tercu, and featuring members of bands like Casual Nun and Echo Canyon, the collective joined up for an intensive 10-day studio session last year, which spawned two albums: 2019's Hominid Sounds-released Kharrub and this, their debut for Rocket Recordings.

The band themselves summarise their mission as an aim to create "a vision of short-term future [while] trying to find humanity's place in that world. Coming from Greece, all the futuristic elements take another turn as developments in technology and commerce take time to filter through in peripheral countries and are often skewed."

They continue: "There's a certain interplay between old and new, urban and rural, human civilisation and nature, poorly maintained underdevelopment or disruptive technology and surveillance, domination and symbiosis. We've been exploring the space between such dipoles and trying to create a sense of optimism and militancy to face this brave new world."

Rocket Recordings will release Proto Tekno on May 22.