The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Jarvis Cocker's New Group Details Debut LP
Christian Eede , March 2nd, 2020 18:27

JARV IS... comprises Serafina Steer, Emma Smith, Andrew McKinney, Jason Buckle and Adam Betts, alongside Jarvis Cocker

Jarvis Cocker's new group JARV IS... have announced their debut album, titled Beyond the Pale. Above, you can watch a video for new track 'House Music All Night Long'.

"We first performed this at the All Points East festival in Victoria Park in May 2019," Jarvis Cocker says of the new track. "The crowd reaction was so positive that I was inspired to do my first-ever bit of crowd-surfing (which I enjoyed so much that I have repeated it a couple of times since)."

He continues: "It's a straightforward love song about someone stuck alone in the house whilst the object of their affections is out dancing to house music at a rave."

Beyond the Pale marks the first new, original music from Jarvis since the release of his 2009 solo album, Further Complications. The project sees Jarvis take on duties on vocals, guitar and percussion, joined by Serafina Steer (harp, keyboards, vocals), Emma Smith (violin, guitar, vocals), Andrew McKinney (bass, vocals), Jason Buckle (synthesiser and electronic treatments) and Adam Betts (drums, percussion, vocals).

JARV IS… originally formed to play a show at Sigur Ros' Norður og Niður festival in Iceland at the end of 2017. The project was initially conceived as a way of writing songs in collaboration with an audience. The band decided to record their live shows so that they could monitor how songs were developing. After an appearance at California's Desert Daze festival, Portishead's Geoff Barrow suggested to them that these recordings could be used as the basis for an album.

The band initially shared a track called 'Must I Evolve?' in May of last year as the first piece of music to be heard from the new album.

Rough Trade will release Beyond the Pale on May 1.