The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Daniel Avery & Alessandro Cortini Team Up For Album
Christian Eede , February 3rd, 2020 23:17

The duo's first record together, 'Illusion of Time', has been several years in the making

Daniel Avery and Alessandro Cortini are releasing an album together.

Titled Illusion of Time, the full-length effort marks the first time the pair have collaborated on record. The pair have worked remotely on the record for a number of years, and finally came together to finish it in 2018 when Avery toured with Nine Inch Nails, the band Cortini has been a touring part of since 2004.

Above, you can hear the 10-track album's title track.

"It was very much a shared process," Avery says of the album. "I would like to credit Alessandro with his belief that music has a life of its own, as well as the importance he places on the first take... That even something that may be considered out of step by some should be respected. Some of the tracks were borne simply out of a tiny synth part, or a bit of tape hiss that we had recorded. And that approach taught me a lot. It's a record that's been worked on hard, but not laboured over."

Cortini adds: "I was a big fan of Daniel's, and his work always spoke to me in a certain way. Then, when we started working together, it just clicked. It's very hard to explain, but I can always hear the love in his work, and that is true on this record. After our first collaboration, we just kept sending each other music and maintaining that dialogue. Next thing you know, we're sitting in a hotel room in New York and had finished the record in three hours."

Phantasy Sound will release Illusion of Time on March 27.