The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Awesome Tapes From Africa To Release New Hailu Mergia Album
Christian Eede , January 27th, 2020 17:32

It's his third album for Brian Shimovitz' label

Hailu Mergia has announced details of a new album, titled Yene Mircha. Above, you can hear lead track, 'Abichu Nega Nega'.

It's the Ethio-jazz artist's third album for Awesome Tapes From Africa, following 2013's Hailu Mergia & His Classical Instrument: Shemonmuanaye and 2018's Yala Belu.

Yene Mircha - which means 'my choice' in Amharic - features original works by Mergia, alongside songs by Asnakesh Worku and Teddy Afro. The album also features mesenqo player Setegn Atenaw, vocalist Tsehay Kassa and saxophonist Moges Habte.

Awesome Tapes From Africa will release Yene Mircha on March 27.

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.