The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Thundercat Announces New Album
Rob Hakimian , January 16th, 2020 17:42

The virtuoso bassist’s new album boasts features from Steve Lacy, Childish Gambino, Steve Arrington, Kamasi Washington, Lil B and more

Thundercat has revealed details of his new album, It Is What It Is. You can hear the lead track, ‘Black Qualls’, above.

It’s the bassist’s fourth album, following on from 2017’s Drunk, and sees him once again sharing production duties with frequent collaborator Flying Lotus. The new record also takes in musical contributions from Ty Dolla $ign, Childish Gambino, Lil B, Kamasi Washington, Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole and Zack Fox.

“This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that,” Thundercat says. “It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

Ninja Tune will releas It Is What It Is on April 13.