The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Function Album On Tresor
Patrick Clarke , December 4th, 2019 11:52

'Existenz' sees the Sandwell District affiliate team up with Robert Owens on a number of tracks

On Friday, 6 December, Brooklyn-born producer Function releases his new album Existenz, via Tresor, but you can hear the full thing above premiering exclusively with tQ.

Recorded between 2016 and 2019, the 4xLP release finds Function widen his approach from recent forays into techno, and features house pioneer Robert Owens, among others. It was debuted as an A/V performance at Berlin's Atonal festival earlier this year.

The album takes on themes of religion, sexuality, trauma and healing, viewed through the pop art, raves, gay scenes, block-parties and illegal nights that have defined Function's life.

The full tracklisting for the record is as follows:

  1. Sagittarius A (Right Ascension)
  2. Pleasure Discipline
  3. Ertrinken
  4. Growth Cycle (feat. Robert Owens)
  5. Zahlensender
  6. The Approach
  7. Nylon Mood
  8. Alphabet City
  9. Don't Ask, Don't Tell
  10. No Entiendes
  11. Kurzstrecke
  12. Golden Dawn (feat. Stefanie Parnow)
  13. Interdimensional Interferenc
  14. Distant Paradise
  15. Be (feat. Robert Owens)
  16. Vampir
  17. Downtown 161

To purchase the album, click here. You can hear more from Tresor Records here, and see visuals for the record here.