The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


William Doyle Announces New Album
Christian Eede , September 4th, 2019 10:58

He's also shared a new track which features Brian Eno

William Doyle has confirmed details of a new album, titled Your Wilderness Revisited.

The album marks Doyle's first full-length release since 2015's Culture of Volume, his last album under his former name of East India Youth. It's preceded by a new track called 'Design Guide', which features Brian Eno and can be heard just below.

The album is described as an "exploration on the theme of the British suburban environment" and is inspired by Doyle's own experiences of growing up in such a setting. It features guest appearances from Jonathan Meades (whose programme Magnetic North is name-checked as an inspiration for the album) and Laura Misch in addition to Brian Eno.

"This album has been rattling inside of me for over 10 years now," Doyle says. "When I left the suburb I spent my entire teenage life in, I started to think back to it and notice the influence it had on me, on my art, and on my development as a person.

"The architecture and the planning of the modern British suburb influenced this album as much as the experiences and emotions I superimposed upon that landscape at a formative age. I started creating in these places, I started to expand myself in these places, I grappled with grief and loss in these places.

"I realised that I wouldn't be alone in having these experiences here, and so I thought there should be a way of redefining or reimagining these places that painted a different picture of them in our collective consciousness. These weren't just places to escape to the nearest city from - perhaps they held as much truth and beauty in them as anywhere else. This album is, in part, an interrogation and excavation of that truth and beauty."

Doyle will self-release Your Wilderness Revisited via The Orchard on October 25, and will play live at London's The Courtyard on October 31. Tickets for that show can be found here.

Doyle has previously shared the album's two opening tracks, 'Millersdale' and 'Nobody Else Will Tell You'. You can revisit our feature in which Doyle interviews Brian Eno on his Baker's Dozen here.