The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Morphine Records Details New Releases
Christian Eede , July 1st, 2019 16:08

The label will release four new LPs in the coming months, as well as hosting a two-day showcase at Berghain

Rabih Beaini's Morphine label has confirmed details of four new albums due on the label later this year and early next year.

Kicking off the run of new releases is an album from Upperground Orchestra, the collective of artists that includes Rabih Beaini, Alvise Seggi, Tommaso Cappellato and Piero Bittolo Bon. The group formed in Venice in 2002 and later released an EP and album on Morphine in 2008 and 2012 respectively. Titled Euganea, the new album was recorded by the group in 2016 and will be released on October 7.

Following that, Morphine will release Quellgeister#3-Bussd, an album by Austrian composer and sound artist Stefan Fraunberger which has been recorded entirely on an abadoned church organ. That's due out on October 21.

November 4 will see the release of AMA, an album from Japanese rap artist MA and two weeks later, the label will drop a self-titled LP from Contagious, the avant-garde electronic project of Andrea Neumann, Mieko Suzuki and Sabine Ercklentz.

The run of new releases marks the first records from Morphine since 2017 when Beaini released an album from Bandung duo Tarawangsawelas. You can listen to preview clips of all four upcoming records above.

The label's return will also be marked by a two-day label showcase at Berghain on October 10 and 11, which will feature many of the acts set to release new records on the label over the course of the next year. Amongst the acts billed are Sugai Ken, Thomas Brinkmann and Japan's GOAT.

Revisit out 2017 interview with Rabih Beaini here.