The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Thom Yorke Announces New Solo Album
Christian Eede , June 20th, 2019 14:55

Three tracks will soundtrack a new film by Paul Thomas Anderson which premieres on Netflix next week

Thom Yorke has confirmed details of his new solo album, ANIMA.

Set for digital release next Thursday (June 27), the album features several songs that were debuted live by Yorke on the tour for his last solo album, Tomorrow's Modern Boxes. The album was written by Yorke and produced by longtime collaborator Nigel Godrich.

The release of ANIMA will also coincide with the premiere on Netflix of a "one-reeler" directed by Paul Thomas Anderson on June 27. The film, also titled ANIMA, will feature three tracks from the album. You can watch a trailer for the visual above.

A physical release of ANIMA will be out on July 19. The digital and CD release will feature nine tracks, while there will be a bonus track exclusive to vinyl versions of the album.