The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Floating Points To Oversee Next Late Night Tales
Christian Eede , February 27th, 2019 14:02

Floating Points' addition to the Late Night Tales compilation series takes in soul, jazz and folk rarities

Floating Points is to take charge of the next instalment in the Late Night Tales compilation series.

His collection takes in an exclusive cover version of Kenny Wheeler's 'The Sweet Time Suite, Part I', as well as previously unreleased tracks from Sarah Davachi and Toshimaru Nakamura, and a poem recital by Lauren Laverne.

Elsewhere, the 17-track set sees the DJ and producer spanning ambient, soul, jazz and folk selections, from artists such as Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Kara-Lis Coverdale, Azimuth and Max Roach.

"I've learnt about a lot of incredible music from listening to the Late Night Tales compilations over the years, so I jumped at the opportunity to compile one myself," says Sam Shepherd, AKA Floating Points. "The music is a selection of the kind of records I play to set the tone when DJing all night long."

You can pre-order the album ahead of its March 29 release here, where you can also find a tracklist. Check out a trailer for the compilation above.