The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Leafcutter John Track
Christian Eede , February 21st, 2019 17:16

Leafcutter John steps up with a new track and album on James Holden's label

Next up on James Holden's Border Community label is a new album from Leafcutter John. Premiering from it above is a clip for 'Yes! Come Parade With Us'.

The album sees John pair field recordings from the Norfolk coastline with modular synth experimentations, across seven tracks. Norfolk was his one-time home and he returned in 2017 to walk the 60-mile section of Norfolk Coast Path with recording devices in hand.

"Very soon the physical act of walking began to make me think about music," he says. "My footsteps dictated the tempo and imagined melodies accompanied me as I slowly moved along the increasingly wild and magical stretch of coastline. Stresses of the city were replaced by the fall and rise of the North Sea and endless salt flats. Sounds from the environment filtered in and I would stop often to record what I was hearing around me."

Back home in London, he set out working those field recordings into his various modular recordings dating back six years. "Above all else, I wanted the album to exude a sense of constant forward motion but at a very human scale," he says.

The album is out on April 19, and he will tour the UK in support of its release in May, including a show at London's Pickle Factory on May 2.