The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Peaceville Announces Mayhem Box Set
Christian Eede , August 8th, 2018 12:13

An extensive box set featuring work from black metal group Mayhem will be released by Peaceville Records in November

Following on from last year's 30th anniversary celebration, Peaceville Records has announced plans for a new retrospective box set highlighting the work of Norwegian black metal group Mayhem.

Spread across 6xLP picture discs, the set, entitled Cursed In Eternity, includes a 92-page book, posters and an additional 7". The release marks three decades since the founding members of the group - guitarist Euronymous and bassist Necrobutcher - welcomed Hellhammer on drums and Dead on vocals. The original duo formed the band in 1984.

"We are glad to be able to honour the Euronymous & Dead era in this comprehensive box set that Peaceville and Finn Håkon Rødland put together for the band," Nechrobutcher and Hellhammer, the remaining members of that iteration of the band, say.

The set includes some recordings of Mayhem's 1990 live dates in Norway as well as their short German tour, plus the 'Out From The Dark' and 'Henhouse' rehearsal sessions. The 7" vinyl includes two tracks: 'Freezing Moon' and 'Carnage'.

The book recalls stories from that period in the band's history and also features previously unseen photographs sourced from personal archives. There is also a DVD featuring never-seen-before footage from their full Jessheim concert, as well as other film.

The release is scheduled for November 16 and can be pre-ordered here.