The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


WATCH: New Immersion Video
Christian Eede , April 17th, 2018 14:01

Immersion, the project of Colin Newman and Malka Spigel, return with a new album and video

Immersion, the duo made up of Wire frontman Colin Newman and Minimal Compact's Malka Spigel, have announced details of their new album, entitled Sleepless.

Premiering above is the video for 'Microclimate' which opens the album, which centres around galloping drums, submerged brass and a driving bassline.

Sleepless follows on from the duo's last album Analogue Creatures Living On An Island. Matt Schulz of Holy Fuck makes a guest appearance on one track on the album while there is also a collaboration with Gil Luz and Asi Weitz of EBM band Hexenschuss.

The duo will precede the album's release with a special event in Brighton that they're calling Nanocluster. Taking place on June 8 at the RoseHill venue, the band will play a 30-minute set followed by a guest 30-minute set from Ulrich Schnauss and a final 30-minute set featuring Immersion and Schnauss in collaboration. This event will mark the fourth edition of Nanocluster from Immersion. You can find more details here.

Sleepless is set for release on June 15 via the swim~ label. You can pre-order the album here.