The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Black Sabbath Announce 7" Boxset
Patrick Clarke , April 12th, 2018 15:23

A new limited edition 10-piece set compiles some of Sabbath's finest 1970s singles on vinyl

Black Sabbath will release Supersonic Years - The Seventies Singles Boxset via BMG on June 8, which compiles the metal pioneers' run of hit singles of that era.

In 1971 guitarist Iommi told the Disc and Music Echo "We didn't intend to make a single in the first place," when discussing their breakout hit 'Paranoid', which is the first of the new collection. "But after we’d completed the album, the ‘Paranoid’ track was sufficiently short to be a ‘trailer’ for the LP.  We really didn’t expect it to do anything at all.  We don’t go into the studio to make singles. We make LPs only."

Despite this, and a reported 'ban' within the band on singles that lasted two years, they went on to produce a number of hits.

The ten tracks newly reissued and remastered by Andy Pearce include a number of rare single edits, and will come with unique colour picture sleeves that are either ultra-rare or exclusive to the set.

The tracklisting is as follows: Disc 1: 'Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)/Wicked World' –(1970)
Disc 2: 'Paranoid/The Wizard' (1970)
Disc 3: 'Iron Man (Single Edit)/Electric Funeral' (1970)
Disc 4: 'Tomorrow’s Dream/Laguna Sunrise' (1972)
Disc 5: 'Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Edited Version)/Changes' (1973)
Disc 6: 'Am I Going Insane (Radio) (Single Edit)/Hole In The Sky' (1975)
Disc 7: 'Gypsy/She’s Gone' (1976)
Disc 8: 'It’s Alright/Rock ‘N’ Roll Doctor' (1976)
Disc 9: 'Never Say Die/She’s Gone' (1978)
Disc 10: 'Hard Road (Single Edit)/Symptom Of The Universe (German Single Edit)' (1978)

To pre-order the box set, click here