The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Girls Names
Christian Eede , March 26th, 2018 11:36

Girls Names announce new album and share lead track '25'

Belfast trio Girls Names have announced details of their new album, entitled Stains on Silence, and above you can listen to lead track '25' exclusively via tQ.

'25' opens the band's upcoming album and centres around melancholic bass guitar and synths, as well as frontman Cathal Cully's low register vocals.

"There was a finished – and then aborted – mix of the album, which was shelved for six months," says Cully, talking about the period that followed the departure of drummer Gib Cassidy from the band in 2015 after they released their last album. "We then took a break from all music and went back to full-time work. We chilled out from the stress of rushing the record and not being happy with it, as well as being skint with no impending touring on the cards and constantly having to worry about rent."

Eventually the band returned to work on the album, pulling it together across various location into Cully's own home. "We started tearing the material apart and rebuilding, re-editing and re-recording different parts in my home in early Autumn last year," says Cully. Through the process of working on the album, the trio had one primary aim: to make an old-fashioned record amounting to around 30-35 minutes in length.

Stains on Silence is scheduled for release on June 15 via Tough Love Records. You can pre-order it here. The band will tour in support of the album through June taking in dates in London, Belfast, Leeds, Glasgow, Manchester and Dublin.