The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Eels
Jack Napier , January 18th, 2018 13:53

Hear the title track from the first new Eels record in four years below, plus details of a mammoth world tour

Eels have announced a new album, The Deconstruction, which will be released on April 6. You can listen to the title track above and watch the album’s trailer here.

Released on E Works, The Deconstruction is the first new music the band have put out in four years. The album will be released digitally, on CD, 2 x 10” LP, and on a Limited Edition Deluxe 2 x 12” LP Box Set. You can pre-order the album here.

As part of a world tour, the band have also announced three UK headline dates in July, which includes a gig at the O2 Brixton Academy. The complete list of tour dates is here.

The album was performed by front man E (aka Mark Oliver Everett), Koool G Murder and P-Boo, with The Deconstruction Orchestra & Choir. It was produced by E, along with Mickey Petralia, who has not produced Eels’ music since the band’s second album, Electro-Shock Blues, in 1998.

Speaking about the new album, E said: “Here are 15 new Eels tracks that may or may not inspire, rock, or not rock you. The world is going nuts. But if you look for it, there is still great beauty to be found.”

Those 15 tracks are as follows:

The Deconstruction
Bone Dry
The Quandary
Rusty Pipes
The Epiphany
Today Is The Day
Sweet Scorched Earth
Coming Back
Be Hurt
You Are The Shining Light
There I Said It
Archie Goodnight
The Unanswerable
In Our Cathedral