The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Psychic Markers Track
Christian Eede , December 7th, 2017 15:42

Listen to the first track from the Psychic Markers' new album, out early next year on Bella Union

Psychic Markers - the quartet consisting of Alannah Ashworth, Lewis Baker, Steven Dove, Leon Dufficy and Luke Jarvis - will make their debut on the Bella Union label early next year with the release of new album Hardly Strangers.

Premiering above is the album's title track which marries motorik influences from key proponents of Krautrock with the indie-pop of acts like Stereolab.

The release of Hardly Strangers follows on from 2014's Scrapbook No. 1, which marked the group's debut full-length outing. The new album was crafted over the course of a week spent holed up in Devon writing and recording.

"It's more of an unwritten understanding between ourselves," the band's Steven Dove says, expanding of their songwriting process. "If something doesn't feel right for the band, we lose it."

Hardly Strangers is set for release on February 23, and the band will play an album release show at The Victoria in London on March 8. Details for that are here.