The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Ghostpoet
Eoin Murray , April 19th, 2017 12:08

Ghostpoet shares new single 'Immigrant Boogie' and details of extensive UK tour

Ghostpoet has returned with his first new music since 2015's Shedding Skin.

'Immigrant Boogie', streaming above, is a re-emergence that is bursting with intent. Potentially the most direct, unrestrained music to come from the vocalist and producer since his 2011 Mercury nominated debut Peanut Butter Blues and Melancholy Jam, he recruited Shame's Charlie Steen on guest vocals and Wild Beasts and Frightened Rabbit's Leo Abrahams on guitar and production.

Speaking of the track, he said: "It's a first person account of a difficult journey across borders, partly intended to ask those who have questioned the arrival of refugees in recent times what they would do in the same situation."

"There is an important story to be told there, but I wrote the song in a way that aims to capture a broader human truth: that while we are all working for a better life for ourselves, we have to accept that we are not in control of the outcome."

Ghostpoet has also announced a series of live dates for the UK and Ireland in the coming months.

Ghostpoet Tour Dates:


24 Button Factory, Dublin
25 Invisible Wind Factory, Liverpool
26 Riverside, Newcastle
28 Stereo, Glasgow
29 Plug, Sheffield
30 Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
31 Mama Rouxs, Birmingham


2 Junction 1, Cambridge
3 Academy 2, Oxford
4 The Booking Hall, Dover
6 Academy 3, Leicester
7 Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
8 Concorde 2, Brighton
10 Printworks, London
11 Academy 2, Manchester
12 Arts Centre, Norwich
13 Wedgewood Rooms, Portsmouth
14 Marble Factory, Bristol