The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Final Meltdown Lineup
Eoin Murray , April 19th, 2017 11:17

Princess Nokia, Fakear, Soulwax and more join the M.I.A.-curated lineup

Soulwax, photo by Rob Walbers

The final line-up for this year's Meltdown festival, curated by M.I.A., has been announced.

The festival, taking place at London's Southbank Centre, will run from 9 - 18 June.

Newly added events include live sets from Princess Nokia, Fakear and Soulwax as well as a rave hosted by Atlanta's Awful Records in the Clore Ballroom, an all-day block party hosted by Rinse FM and Hip-Hop Karaoke.

There will also be a series of talks and debates presented in association with CMU and a series of live sets from international acts on 18 June on Riverside Terrace in solidarity with Refugee Week.

These additions to the line-up contribute to an already diverse and exciting roster including Young Fathers, Mykki Blanco, Tommy Genesis, Yung Lean and M.I.A. herself.

The festival aims to celebrate London's diverse communities and will host a Carnival Party as a celebration of Caribbean culture in the city as well as the Meltdown Mela, an all day event that will celebrate art and culture from South Asia.

An installation entitled 'Refuge/e' by OVA + INE will give visitors an opportunity to hear the voices of refugees in a centre in Lebanon as they speak about the daily life and living conditions of the 1.5 million Syrians who are now seeking safety in the country.

Each year, Meltdown festival is hosted and by a different artist, with previous curators including Elvis Costello, Nick Cave, Lee "Scratch" Perry, David Byrne and Anohni.

Tickets for Meltdown will be available to purchase from tomorrow 20 April at 10 AM. For more information visit the Southbank Centre website.