The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Ryuichi Sakamoto New Album Details
Patrick Clarke , March 16th, 2017 12:36

The Japanese composer has shared details of first studio album in eight years, titled async

Ryuichi Sakamoto's first LP since recovering from throat cancer in 2015 is to be titled async, and released via Milan Records on 28 April.

The full tracklisting, below, and the album artwork, above, have been announced for what is the acclaimed composer's first album of original material since 2009's Out Of Noise.

Sakamoto has described the new record as being conceived for "an Andrei Tarkovsky film that does not exist". He drew on elements of field recordings and museums around the world, and explores ideas of asynchronism, prime numbers, chaos and quantum physics.

The tracklisting for async, for which 'water state 2' is a vinyl-only feature, is as follows:

  1. andata
  2. disintegration
  3. solari
  4. ZURE
  5. walker
  6. stakra
  7. ubi
  8. fullmoon
  9. async
  10. tri
  11. Life, Life
  12. honj
  13. ff
  14. garden
  15. water state 2

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.