The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


More Names Added To Rewire 2017
Eoin Murray , January 19th, 2017 16:28

Newly announced acts for the Dutch festival include Swans and Jeff Mills & Tony Allen

Now entering its seventh year, Dutch festival Rewire has today announced a number of new acts for their 2017 event, taking place from March 31 - April 2 in The Hague.

Added to the bill are Swans and an A/V performance from prolific record producer and ambient guitar composer Daniel Lanois. Also announced is a collaborative performance from techno innovator Jeff Mills and genre-defining afrobeat drummer Tony Allen and a set from Aurora Halal.

There will also be a performance from This Is Not This Heat, a return of sorts for British art rock collective This Heat. The performance will see founding members Charles Bullen and Charles Hayward joined by Thurston Moore, Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor and Grumbling Fur’s Daniel O'Sullivan as they perform new interpretations of tracks from This Heat’s catalogue.

In fitting with Rewire’s emphasis on experimental genres spanning from the electronic to the neo-classical, acts already confirmed for this year’s festival include: Helena Hauff, SUMS (Kangding Ray & Mogwai’s Barry Burns), experimental electronic producer Forest Swords, ambient techno spectres SHXCXCHCXSH and an A/V performance from Arca and Jesse Kanda.

The festival will take place across various venues in The Hague, from churches, old factories and pop up spaces to more conventional theatres. As well as musical performances there will be various screenings, talks and workshops taking place throughout the festival.

For full line-up details and tickets visit the Rewire website here.