The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Jaakko Eino Kalevi Rework
Luke Cartledge , May 10th, 2016 15:05

Jaako Eino Kalevi reworks track from Norwegian two-piece Apothek

Earlier this year, Norwegian two-piece Apothek released single 'Waiting For The Thunder' and now they are unveiling a remixed version of the track, featuring a splicing-together of Morten Myklebust's original vocal and the voice of Samaris frontwoman, Jófríður Ákadóttir, all done by Jaakko Eino Kalevi. You can listen above right now.

Kalevi has described his intentions for the track as based on a desire to create a "remix that would be more raw and also thought Jofri´s voice would fit perfectly to the song's monumental feel. Kylie Minogue's 'Slow' inspired me a lot.” The track will be released on Propeller Recordings this Friday (May 13) as part of the Waiting For The Thunder Remix EP. For more information about Apothek and the new remix EP, click here.

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.