The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


WATCH: New Ulver Album Trailer
Christian Eede , December 8th, 2015 13:42

Ulver ready new album for 2016 release developed from improvised live shows in 2014

2016 will see the release of a brand new album from Ulver in the form of ATGCLVLSSCAP and above you can check out a trailer for the album exclusively right now.

The album - which the band have been working on under the moniker '12' - is formed from recordings made at 12 different live shows in February of 2014 where the band took an improvisatory approach to their sets. The band's Krystoffer Rygg says: "The tour was to be an experiment, kind of loose and scary for a band as ‘set in their ways’ as us.

"At the end of any album process, I can’t wait to do something else. So yeah, it is partly borne out of that feeling, being a bit bored with the circumstances. It was quite liberating to do something more in the moment. One night a jam could be five minutes, and the next it could be fifteen. We couldn’t have captured these songs in a studio environment.”

From there, the band's Daniel O'Sullivan took charge of the recordings, editing hours of material in his North London residence which had formerly been owned by artist and Coil affiliate Ian Johnstone. O'Sullivan says: "The hungry ghosts of the now empty house appear to be burrowing into this record.” The record was then treated, edited and finally mixed by Anders Møller, Kristoffer Rygg and Tore Ylwizaker in Oslo.

The album will be released on new label House Of Mythology who will also release a new record from Kitchie Kitchie Ki Me O called Are You Land or Water. You can check a promo for that below. You can pre-order both forthcoming releases from the label here with the releases set for January. Another project from the label will follow with music from Laniakea which includes Daniel O Sullivan and Massimo Pupillo.