The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Tortoise
Christian Eede , October 7th, 2015 12:05

Quintet announce the release of their first album in six years

Tortoise have announced their first album in six years as well as a tour of Europe in the new year. You can hear the first track to be shared from the album, ‘Gesceap’, above.

Entitled The Catastrophist, the album will be released by Thrill Jockey on January 22 and marks the band’s first since 2009’s Beacons of Ancestorship. The new album sees the five of them collaborating with Yo La Tengo’s Georgia Hubley and U.S. Maple’s Todd Rittmann who each provide vocals to a track, the latter a cover of David Essex’s ‘Rock On’. “All of the songs went through a pretty intensive process of restructuring,” says Jeff Parker of the band. “We actually had quite a lot of material that we ended up giving up on. Oftentimes, we’ll shelve ideas and come back to them years later.” Tortoise will play London’s Village Underground on February 23 as part of an extensive Europe and North America tour.

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.