The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


TONIGHT: tQ Ed John Doran's Tour In London
Laurie Tuffrey , May 14th, 2015 13:38

John and Årabrot's Kjetil Nernes bring their English Trip to the capital, with support from Roger Robinson and Krautrock Karaoke. Plus, copies of Hubris, the audio accompaniment to Jolly Lad, on vinyl at the gig!

Tonight sees Quietus editor John Doran bringing his UK-wide, month-long tour with Årabrot's Kjetil Nernes, in support of his first book, Jolly Lad, to London, playing just below tQ HQ at The Lexington. He'll be joined on the bill by dub poet and King Midas Sound man Roger Robinson, soon to release his new solo album, Dis Side Ah Town, as well as a bursting-at-the-seams edition of Krautrock Karaoke. Proceedings kick off at 7 pm - in fact, the full set times are below, along with the line-up of musicians for KK, while there's further exciting news in the form of Hubris, John's spoken word album companion piece to the book, will be available to buy this evening. It features contributions from Årabrot, Nicky Wire of the Manic Street Preachers, Abi & Neil of British Sea Power, Perc, Grumbling Fur, The Eccentronic Research Council, Teeth Of The Sea, English Heretic, Mark Dicker, Gnod, Bronze Teeth and is, we can vouch, without bias, thoroughly ace; copies of that and the book will be on sale. What left to say? Nothing, save for Psych Milligan, aka Rusty, will be DJing and there's even talk of a J-Do-Krautrock Karaoke collaboration, so get your tickets here.

PJ Mounford (Bad Guys)
Simon Pomery (Blood Music)
Maggie Muldoon (Casual Sect)
Ed Grimshaw (Cesarians)
Kevin Morpurgo (Dethscalator/Casual Sect)
Jonny Halifax (Jonny Halifax & The Howling Truth)
Phil MFU (Man From Uranus, Orlando)
Edmund Davie (oMMM)
Tim Cedar (Part Chimp,Sex Swing)
Mark O Pilkington (Raagnagrok)
Matty Skylove
Alex Giomo (S.M.P.)
Gardylew Spew (Spews)
Sam Barton (Teeth Of The Sea)
Mat Colgate (Teeth Of The Sea)
Jimmy Martin (Teeth Of The Sea)
Jordan Cook (Telegram)
Gordon Watson (Terminal Cheesecake/Luminouse Bodies)
Evilinn Trouble
Subway Lung (Two Lone Swordsmen)
Chris Rotter (Two Lone Swordsmen)
Susumu Mukai (Zongamin)
Kenichi Iwasa (Xaviers)
& more to be confirmed...

Doors: 7 pm
Roger Robinson: 7.30 pm
John Doran & Årabrot: 8.30 pm
Krautrock Karaoke: 9-11 pm