The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: Stream The Heads' US Tour Bootleg
Alex Flood , December 10th, 2014 11:09

We get an exclusive full play of California Jams from recent Everybody Knows We Got Nowhere box set

Legendary stoner rock gurus, The Heads, reissued their seminal record, 2000’s Everyone Knows We Got Nowhere, in a limited edition five-LP & CD box set earlier this year. It’s charted high in end-of-year reissues rundown and Rooster Rock have now kindly given us this exclusive stream of a rare live bootleg from the release. California Jams encompasses seven tracks, a 37-minute long jam of bone-crunching riffs and blood-curdling guitar squeals that was recorded on the Bristol quartet's infamous US tour of 2000.

In one particularly hairy moment in Sacramento, the tour van got petrol bombed after a brief post-gig scuffle. Talking to us in our interview published on Monday, lead guitarist Paul Allen said: "That was a strange gig. I remember Wayne and I swapping instruments and him just writhing on the floor with the guitar. The actual incident I think was helped along by some guy accusing us of throwing a bottle at him and one of us threatening him with a barstool because the guy was being an arse. The whole vibe in the capital was tense and the venue looked very earthy." Listen above, take a look at the track listing below and get hold of the box set here.


  1. Widowmaker
  2. Legevaan Satellite
  3. Demoniser 48/48
  4. Steamroller
  5. Fuego
  6. False Heavy
  7. Spliff Riff