The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Ministry Of Wolves
Oobah Butler , August 7th, 2014 17:48

The Quietus' favourite Brothers Grimm storytellers announce a new vinyl release; listen to Rumpelstilzchen from the album below

The Ministry Of Wolves, fine Brothers Grimm-accounting storytellers that they are, have today announced a new vinyl companion for their debut record Music From Republik der Wölfe, one of our favourite soundtracks of the year, in the form of Happily Ever After, due out on October 6 via Mute. Listen to 'Rumpelstilzchen' from the record above.

Sinister in nature, the piece never fully commits to a form, rather opting to unpredictably soar through ideas at a psychosis-inducing rate. The label tell us it's indicative of the album, which is comprised of unreleased and unheard tracks, as well as German language versions of tracks from the debut. Happily Ever After is limited to 500 copies and is available on both yellow and black vinyl.

The band - Mick Harvey, Alexander Hacke, Danielle de Picciotto and Paul Wallfisch - continue their live performances with a series of dates across Europe, beginning at Silver Church in Bucharest, Romania on September 25. Find out more about the release over at Mute.