The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


WATCH: New Black Submarine
Laurie Tuffrey , January 17th, 2014 06:43

Video for Here So Rain from band's forthcoming debut, New Shores

Black Submarine, the band formed by The Verve founding members Nick McCabe and Simon Jones (and going by the name The Black Ships until 2012) will be releasing their debut album, New Shores on March 9 via Kobalt Music. It follows up their first EP, Kurofune, put out in 2011 by the band, which also comprises singer Amelia Tucker, drummer Michele ‘Mig’ Schillace and Davide Rossi, who'd previously worked with McCabe and Jones as the string arranger on The Verve's Forth album from 2008.

They've already trailed the album with 'Black Submarine', which you can get as a free download in exchange for an e-mail address here, and we've now got a first look at the video for another new track, 'Here So Rain' - watch above. The band have so far confirmed two live dates in the UK next month - the London show's already sold out, but there are still tickets left for their February 5 gig at Manchester's Deaf Institute. Get hold of them from the band's website, and stay tuned to the Quietus for a Baker's Dozen with McCabe.