The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


The Ministry Of Wolves Announce LP
Laurie Tuffrey , January 9th, 2014 11:19

New collaborative group featuring Mick Harvey and Alexander Hacke release album of Brothers Grimm-inspired songs for theatre production

Photograph courtesy of Thomas Ecke

Mute have just announced that they'll be releasing Music From Republik der Wölfe, the first album by The Ministry Of Wolves, on March 10. The band are a collaborative project involving Mick Harvey formerly of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and Crime & The City Solution, Einstürzende Neubauten and current C&TCS member Alexander Hacke, his band mate in the latter, Danielle de Picciotto, and Paul Wallfisch. They came together to soundtrack a new theatre production, Republik der Wölfe, being staged at Theater Dortmund (where Wallfisch is musical director) in Germany from February 15, which takes its lead from the folk tales of the Brothers Grimm and Anne Sexton's use of them in her 1971 text Transformations. We've got a first taster of the record with the video for 'Rumpelstiltskin'; watch that below, head to Theater Dortmund's website for performance details and Mute's site here: