The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


New Boy George Album: Full Details
Laurie Tuffrey , August 29th, 2013 11:38

This Is What I Do set for release in October; tour dates below

We've previously reported that Boy George will be releasing a new album, and the singer has now revealed full details of the record.

This Is What I Do will be out on October 28 through George's own imprint, Very Me, and Kobalt Label Services, and marks his first LP of original material in 18 years. It will feature a host of guests, DJ Yoda, Kitty Daisy & Lewis' Kitty Durham, Texas/Red Sky July's Ally McErlaine, MC Spee of Dreadzone and Nizar Al Issa, with previous collaborator Richie Stevens and Dave Bascombe on production and mixing duties respectively. As well as the new tracks, some of which were co-written with Killing Joke's Youth, there's also a version of 'Death Of Samantha' by Yoko Ono.

Talking about the album, George says: “I wanted to make a baggy album, not overproduced and I think I have achieved it. I was listening to things like 'Beast Of Burden' by The Stones and I had my head most definitely in the 70s. Richie's approach was very organic and he's the best drummer in the country so the feel of the record was so locked in from the start [...] I was also writing from a happy place. This time, no ex lovers to get revenge on. For me 'Bigger Than War' sums up the tone.”

Have a look at the tracklisting below, and head here to see the previously-announced November tour dates:

  1. 'King Of Everything'
  2. 'Bigger Than War'
  3. 'Live Your Life'
  4. 'My God'
  5. 'It’s Easy'
  6. 'Death Of Samantha'
  7. 'Any Road'
  8. 'My Star'
  9. 'Love And Danger'
  10. 'Nice And Slow'
  11. 'Play Me'
  12. 'Feel the Vibration'