The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Postiljonen
Laurie Tuffrey , August 29th, 2013 09:22

Wrap your ears around When All The Wild Things Die ahead of their set at Birthdays in September

In July, Swedish electro-pop trio Postiljonen released their debut album Skyer via Best Fit Recordings/Hybris, and next month they're London-bound for a show at Birthdays in Dalston on September 10.

Ahead of that, we've got a first spin of an unreleased track from the LP's recording sessions, 'When All The Wild Things Die' (a new single, 'All That We Had Is Lost', is set to follow in October). It takes some of the hallmarks of the fine-tuned electronic pop coming out of Scandinavia in recent years, massed-up, reverbed-out vocals and frosted keys focally, but the band, comprising Mia Bøe, Daniel Sjörs and Joel Nyström Holm operate firmly within 80s dimensions, underpinning the track with strident drum machines and a few nice volleys of synth brass - have a listen below, and get hold of tickets for the Birthdays set here:

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.