The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


No Age Announce New Album
Laurie Tuffrey , May 31st, 2013 05:25

Ace LA duo announce fourth album An Object

Los Angeles' noise-punk duo No Age have announced that they will be releasing a new album, An Object, on August 19 via Sub Pop.

It's their follow-up to 2010's excellent Everything In Between, and was recorded in their hometown with long-time collaborator Facundo Bermudez. Squint closely and you might just be able to make out the tracklisting in the picture above (or just have a read below).

The announcement is filled with intrigue (drumming with bass guitars? Superb), with the band saying: "This new LP finds drummer/vocalist Dean Spunt exploding from behind his kit, landing percussive blows with amplified contact mics, 4-string bass guitars, and prepared speakers, as well as traditional forms of lumber and metal. Meanwhile, guitarist Randy Randall corrals his previously lush, spastic, sprawling arrangements into taught, refined, rats' nests. Lyrically Spunt challenges space, fracturing ideological forms and complacency, creating a striking new perspective that reveals thematic preoccupations with structural ruptures and temporal limits."

Stay tuned for further updates, and in the meantime, have a listen to Everything In Between cut 'Glitter' below with the tracklisting following:

  1. 'No Ground'
  2. 'I Won’t Be Your Generator'
  3. 'C’mon Stimmung'
  4. 'Defector/ed'
  5. 'An Impression'
  6. 'Lock Box'
  7. 'Running From A-Go-Go'
  8. 'My Hands, Birch And Steel'
  9. 'Circling With Dizzy'
  10. 'A Ceiling Dreams Of A Floor'
  11. 'Commerce, Comment, Commence'