The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


More Depeche Mode LP Details
The Quietus , January 24th, 2013 09:46

Out in March...

Depeche Mode have released a few more bits of information about their forthcoming new studio album, their first for the Columbia label. The album, called Delta Machine will see Depeche going all-out with the packaging and gizmos.

As well as the standard version, fans will be able to get a deluxe edition that features photos by long-time collaborator Anton Corbijn, as well as remixes of forthcoming single 'Heaven' by Matthew Dear, Owlle, Steps to Heaven and Blawan (oof). 'Heaven' will be premiered on Vevo next Friday, February 1st.

Speaking about the new record, Martin Gore said: "Writing this album was incredibly daunting as I wanted the sound of this collection to be very modern. I want people to feel good about listening to this record, to get some kind of peace. It's just got something magical about it."

Dave Gahan added: "With this release we've completely shifted our idea of how to create an album. When we hit a wall where we realize the album is beginning to sound too normal, we'll mess it up and really give it that organic Depeche Mode Sound. Delta Machine is no different, and I can’t wait for all of our fans to hear it." WHAT DID FLETCH SAY?

The music on the studio clip preview clip below suggests a very heavy synth record with Dave Gahan in excellent, maddened preacher vocal form. Artwork can be found below the player.

Delta Machine tracklisting

'Welcome to My World'
'Secret to the End'
'My Little Universe'
'The Child Inside'
'Soft Touch/Raw Nerve'
'Should Be Higher'
'Soothe My Soul'

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.