The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


BACK: Black Sabbath
Laurie Tuffrey , January 13th, 2013 09:50

Band return with Rick Rubin-produced album in June

The returns just keep on rolling in! Making good on their promise of a new record after last year's reunion, Black Sabbath have just announced (on the 13TH of January, natch) that they will be releasing a new album, 13, in June this year via Vertigo.

It will be the first to feature the line-up of Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler since 1978's Never Say Die!, and has been recorded and produced by Rick Rubin in Los Angeles with Rage Against The Machine's Brad Wilk taking on drum duties after drummer Bill Ward quit last year.

While there's currently no firm release date, the band will be preceding it with live dates in New Zealand, Australia and Japan.