The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Atoms For Peace: LP Details Announced
Laurie Tuffrey , December 4th, 2012 11:15

Thom Yorke announces release date, artwork and tracklisting of project with Nigel Godrich, Flea and co

Thom Yorke has just announced details about the debut album by Atoms For Peace, his electronic collective featuring Nigel Godrich, Flea, Joey Waronker and Mauro Refosco.

They'll release their debut album, titled Amok, on February 25 2013 via XL, on CD and vinyl (also in deluxe versions), and download formats. The artwork (above) is by Stanley Donwood, a regular Yorke/Radiohead contributor, and has a similar aesthetic to The Eraser's sleeve, which brings us nicely onto Yorke's note accompanying the announcement:

"We formed to learn to play The Eraser record, if you don't know that, and discovered a really good energy doing that.. and it fell into this record.

"I'm still reeling from being on tour for much of the year but we are planning to get together and play etc next year !We're figuring all that out right now.

"Atoms is a ongoing and open ended project, where it leads i know not for certain.... which is what is nice about it."

They're currently streaming "something new" on the band's website - head here to listen - and have a look at the tracklisting below:

  1. 'Before Your Very Eyes'
  2. 'Default'
  3. 'Ingenue'
  4. 'Dropped'
  5. 'Unless'
  6. 'Stuck Together Pieces'
  7. 'Judge Jury and Executioner'
  8. 'Reverse Running'
  9. 'Amok'