The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


The White Review Short Story Prize
Karl Smith , December 3rd, 2012 05:12

Quarterly arts magazine The White Review this weekend announced the launch of its first short story prize

About The White Review Short Story Prize

The White Review Short Story Prize is an annual short story competition for emerging writers. Made possible by the generous support of the Jerwood Charitable Foundation, the prize awards £2,500 to the best piece of short fiction by a writer resident in the UK and Ireland who has yet to secure a publishing deal.

The judges will be looking for short stories that explore and expand the possibilities of the form. We encourage submissions from all literary genres, and there are no restrictions on theme or subject matter. We would only emphasise that the prize was founded to reward ambitious, imaginative and innovative approaches to creative writing.


Novelist Tom McCarthy, author of Men in Space, Remainder and the Man Booker-shortlisted C, will announce the winner at a prize-giving ceremony in London in April 2013.

In addition to the £2,500 prize, the winner will be published in a quarterly print issue of The White Review. Writers to have been published by The White Review include Joshua Cohen, César Aira, Deborah Levy, D. W. Wilson, Helen DeWitt, Federico Falco, K. J. Orr, Jesse Ball and many others.

The winner will have the chance to meet with jury member and literary agent Karolina Sutton to discuss their writing, plans for future work and possible routes to publication.

Up to seven shortlisted writers will have their work published online and receive feedback from the editors of The White Review.


We are delighted to have assembled a prestigious panel of judges to decide the award.

Deborah Levy writes fiction, plays and poetry. Her work has been staged by the Royal Shakespeare Company, and she is the author of highly praised novels including Beautiful Mutants, Swallowing Geography and Billy and Girl. Her latest novel Swimming Home was shortlisted for the 2012 Man Booker Prize.

Alex Bowler is editorial director at Jonathan Cape. He has edited Tom McCarthy, Martin Amis, Ian McEwan, Julian Barnes, Audrey Niffenegger, Kevin Barry and Grant Morrison.

Karolina Sutton is a senior agent at Curtis Brown. She notably represents Cormac McCarthy, Siri Hustvedt and Haruki Murakami.


  • The prize will be open to submissions on 1 December 2012

  • Submissions will close on 1 March 2013. No entries will be considered if submitted after 1 March 2013 (12 noon GMT).

  • A shortlist will be announced on 15 March 2013.

  • The winner will be announced at a prize-giving ceremony in London in April 2013.

Entry, as well as full terms and conditions are available via The White Review website