The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: Prurient On Blackest Ever Black
The Quietus , November 6th, 2012 09:05

Dominick Fernow to release Through The Window via London label in February 2013

Blackest Ever Black have announced that they are to release a new album by Dominick Fernow's Prurient project. Entitled Through The Window, it will be released in February 2013, and contains three tracks Fernow recorded during the sessions that birthed his last album, last year's Bermuda Drain, and his more recent Time's Arrow 12". In advance of its release, you can listen to short clips from the album's three tracks via the embed below.

There are obvious sonic links to his Bermuda Drain material - in particular these tracks' chilly synths and scuffed electronic noise - but from first impressions the rhythms feel more driving and in line with some of the more techno-based material from Fernow's Vatican Shadow project. "The final sessions from the Bermuda Drain era," reads the text accompanying the album's release, "recorded before the move west to the Los Angeles desert city. Juxtaposing the conceptual and real life realms that power electronics can represent with the artificial environments of the dancefloor and the club. A hall of mirrors, sycophants, fairweather friends and social vampires."

Fernow has previously released music through Blackest Ever Black as Vatican Shadow - earlier this year, the label put out his Iraqi Praetorian Guard 12", which featured a remix by UK techno legend Regis. He's had a productive year, releasing several cassettes and LPs as Vatican Shadow, and is set to release a Prurient/JK Flesh split record through US hardcore/metal label Hydrahead (the label's final release, in fact).

Through The Window will be released on vinyl LP, CD and digital - for more information and to pre-order the LP or CD, click here. Its tracklist runs as follows.

'Through The Window' (19:47)
'Terracotta Spine' (3:49)
'You Show Great Spirit' (10:11)