The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Björk Announces Biophilia Remix Album
Laurie Tuffrey , October 8th, 2012 12:52

LP, entitled bastards, is set to feature contributions from Death Grips and Hudson Mohawke among others

Björk is set to release an album of remixes of last year's Biophilia album.

bastards (artwork above), out on November 19 via One Little Indian, collects remixes by artists including Death Grips, Hudson Mohawke and Matthew Herbert, some of which were previously released in an eight-part remix series earlier this year, with Mandy Parnell remastering each track.

Given that Biophilia was originally conceived as an interactive project, produced with help from scientists and inventors and with every song available as an app, the album was eminently rework-friendly. Talking about the selection process for bastards, Björk says: “I felt it important to gather together the essence of the remixes, so I picked a quarter of them for one CD for people who are perhaps not too sassy downloaders or don’t have the time or energy to partake in the hunter-gathering rituals of the internet.

"I was incredibly impressed by how the core of the mixes took Biophilia somewhere else while still keeping its character, and like they so often do when at their best: the remixes gave the songs more beats; legs to dance on! I spent some time editing together not necessarily the best ones but the ones that made the strongest whole.”

Have a look at the tracklisting below:

  1. 'Crystalline (Omar Souleyman Remix)'
  2. 'Virus (Hudson Mohawke “Peaches and Guacamol” Rework)'
  3. 'Sacrifice (Death Grips Remix)'
  4. 'Sacrifice (edit) (Matthew Herbert’s Pins And Needles Mix)'
  5. 'Mutual Core (These New Puritans Remix featuring Soloman Is. Song)'
  6. 'Hollow (16-bit Remix)'
  7. 'Mutual Core (Matthew Herbert’s “Teutonic Plates” Mix)'
  8. 'Thunderbolt (Death Grips Remix)'
  9. 'Dark Matter (Alva Noto Remodel)'
  10. 'Thunderbolt (Omar Souleyman Remix)'
  11. 'Solstice (Current Value Remix)'
  12. 'Moon (The Slips Remix)'
  13. 'Crystalline (Matthew Herbert Remix)'