The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Yeasayer Launch New Album Scavenger Hunt
Laurie Tuffrey , August 1st, 2012 12:18

All tracks from new album Fragrant World will be posted online this week - follow the band's Tweets and collect 'em all

Brooklyn psych-pop outfit Yeasayer are attempting to beat an early online leak of their new album by placing videos of all the tracks from their forthcoming album around the internet.

They've already posted 'Henrietta' and 'Longevity' - have a watch below - from Fragrant World, due out on August 20 via Mute, and the rest of the tracks will be scattered around the web this week, before being taken down on Friday. Fans have to follow the Yeasayer and Mute Twitter accounts for clues to where the rest of the tracks are lying unearthed.

The campaign, given the consonant-chugging name PSCYVOTV (PREEMPTIVE SELF-COMMISSIONED YEASAYER VORSTELLUNG or TRACK VISUALIZER), matches the tracks to video created by visual artist Yoshi Sodeoka.

Says the band themselves: "We have received message that we are on the verge of embargoed information being leaked through the cracks of the digital universe. Once again an attempt to tell the story before our mouths can spit. In order to have the edge we have created PSCYVOTV standing for PREEMPTIVE SELF-COMMISSIONED YEASAYER VORSTELLUNG or TRACK VISUALIZER.

"Using the talents of Yoshi Sodeoka we have created a moving visual for every song on our new album Fragrant World and have hidden them all over the internet. The visuals will live on the web until Friday at 8pm EST. You’ll have a few days to find, listen, and most importantly, hear the album from our hands first. At 8pm sharp PSCYVOTV will be removed."

In the meantime, have a read of our live report of the band's recent gig at the Lexington in London. Here's the tracklisting for Fragrant World, and the already-released videos are below:

  1. 'Fingers Never Bleed'
  2. 'Longevity'
  3. 'Blue Paper'
  4. 'Henrietta'
  5. 'Devil and the Deed'
  6. 'No Bones'
  7. 'Reagan's Skeleton'
  8. 'Demon Road'
  9. 'Damaged Goods'
  10. 'Folk Hero Shtick'
  11. 'Glass of the Microscope'