The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Thom Yorke's New Band To Release 12"
The Quietus , July 17th, 2012 12:38

Atoms For Peace to release 12" through Modeselektor's label

Thom Yorke's other band Atoms For Peace are set to inaugurate a new imprint of Modeselektor's 50 Weapons label, called 50 Weapons XTR, report FACT. The band - which features Yorke, Flea (of Red Hot Chili Peppers fame) and long term Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich - will release a 12" through the label on August 3rd. The A-side will feature the band remixing 'Tamer Animals' by Oklahoma five-piece Other Lives, and the B-side finds them remixing their own track 'Other Side'.

An album from the band is also apparently in the pipeline, with the press release stating that an "Atoms for Peace album is rumoured to be ready for release some time towards the end of the year" No word yet as to who's releasing it yet, but Yorke's collaborative and touring history with Modeselektor suggests it's quite possible that 50 Weapons themselves would be taking the reins. More news when we have it.

A1: Other Lives “Tamer Animals – Atoms For Peace Remix” 06:19
B1: Atoms For Peace “Other Side – Stuck Together Remix” 07:54