The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Four Tet announces new album
The Quietus , July 2nd, 2012 10:20

Pink will be released digitally through the producer’s own Text label on 20th August

Kieran Hebden has undergone something of a transformation in recent years: a regular residency at London’s Plastic People club saw him gaining recognition from dance music circles, and his productions have followed suit, venturing ever further into house music territory and increasingly mirroring the dynamics of the dancefloor. Still, the producer hasn’t lost the loyalty of his original fanbase, and many have doubtless been waiting with baited breath for his return to the album format.

Today, Hebden took to his blog to announce the details of Pink, his first long player since 2010’s There Is Love In You. As you might expect from a club music convert, the album is more a collection of pre-existing tracks rather than a new, self-contained statement: six of the eight tracks featured have already seen vinyl-only releases on Hebden’s own Text imprint. ‘Lion’ and ‘Peace For Earth’ are the only two that haven’t seen release previously - though Hebden promises to put them out on vinyl “one day”.

Pink will be released on Text on 20th August. Full tracklist below.

  1. 'Locked'
  2. 'Lion'
  3. 'Jupiters'
  4. 'Ocoras'
  5. '128 Harps'
  6. 'Pyramid'
  7. 'Peace For Earth'
  8. 'Pinnacles'

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.