The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


LISTEN: New Cat Power, More LP Details
The Quietus , June 18th, 2012 12:17

Listen to 'Ruin', the first track to be taken from Cat Power's new album Sun, below

As we previously reported, Cat Power's new album Sun is on its way. Now Matador have announced more details about the album and have given us a track to sink our teeth into. The album will be released on September 3rd, and will be the first album of original Cat Power material since 2006's The Greatest (and her first music released full stop since 2008's second covers album Jukebox). Listen to album track 'Ruin' below, and download the mp3 of the song via Matador here.

Cat Power's Chan Marshall spoke in depth to The Stool Pigeon this month about the genesis of the new album - you can read the interview in full here. "You have a huge responsibility with the things you're trying to create to do your best," she told the Pigeon. "There's pressure - not from critics or anything like that, but to do something that means something in your heart. And you wanna do it the way you wanna do it ... I wanted to prove that I could depend on myself, musically, because I hadn't been playing guitar or piano in like five years and... it was just this feeling that you're not growing if you're not doing something creative."

The album was produced Marshall and mixed by Philippe Zdar, one half of French electro-pop duo Cassius, who has also worked with Chromeo and the Beastie Boys, among others. Its tracklist runs as follows:

'Always On My Own'
'Real Life'
'Human Being'
'Silent Machine'
'Nothin But Time'
'Peace And Love'