The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


The Flaming Lips: LP Details
The Quietus , June 15th, 2012 06:52

Coyne and co sign to Bella Union

The Flaming Lips are to release a new album this year, their first for the Bella Union label, who say that they are "truly thrilled to announce the signing of one of our all-time favourite bands". Hooray! Alright, so The Flaming Lips And Heady Fwends is a bit of a sickly title, but just look at the guestlist of artists they've got involved. Nick Cave, Yoko Ono, Ke$ha and Erykah Badu all feature on the album, which is released in July. The Flaming Lips And Heady Fwends was first released on Record Store Day, when it sold out in about three seconds. The full tracklisting and guest artist details run as follows:

'2012 (You Must Be Upgraded) (w/ Ke$ha, Biz Markie & Hour Of The Time Majesty 12)

'Ashes In The Air' (Featuring Bon Iver)

'Helping The Retarded To Know God' (Featuring Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros)

'Supermoon Made Me Want To Pee' (Featuring Prefuse 73)

'Children Of The Moon' (Featuring Tame Impala)

'That Ain't My Trip' (Featuring Jim James of My Morning Jacket)

'You, Man? Human???' (Featuring Nick Cave)

'I'm Working At NASA On Acid' (Featuring Lightning Bolt)

'Do It!' (Featuring Yoko Ono/Plastic Ono Band)

'Is David Bowie Dying?' (Featuring Neon Indian)

'The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face' (Featuring Erykah Badu)

'Girl, You're So Weird' (Featuring New Fumes)

'Tasered And Maced' (Featuring Aaron Behrens of Ghostland Observatory)

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.