The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Pelican To Release New EP
The Quietus , January 10th, 2012 15:16

Ataraxia/Taraxis for release through Southern Lord in April

Purveyors of huge, riff-heavy instrumental metal Pelican have announced the release of a new EP through Southern Lord. Ataraxia/Taraxis is the follow up to 2009's last full-length What We All Come To Need, and will be released on 10th April.

Originally located in Chicago, the band's four members now live in different cities, and convened to record the EP with engineers including ISIS' Aaron Harris and Sanford Parker (Twilight, Circle Of Animals). It's described as "a new chapter in the band's evolution, with a reenergized focus on composition and the utilization of the recording studio as a creative tool in the songwriting process, yielding one of the most diverse efforts in the band’s prolific discography."

The four tracks on Ataraxia/Taraxis are more concise than some of the quartet's more sprawling songs of old, and move from darker, more ambient periods through to great expanses of the band's trademark monolithic, hollowed-out riffage.

The EP's full tracklist runs as follows:

'Lathe Biosas'
'Parasite Colony'

Around its release the band are touring Europe, including a long stint in the UK. Their UK dates run as follows:

7th - London, The Garage
8th - Birmingham, Vudu Club
9th - Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
10th - Glasgow, Stereo
11th - Manchester, Ruby Lounge
12th - Brighton, The Haunt
13th - Bristol, The Cooler