The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Howlin Rain Announce New Album
The Quietus , January 6th, 2012 09:30

Denim clad classic psych rockers Howlin' Rain have announced their new album The Russian Wilds will be released this March.

And for your delectation they have given us the track 'Phantom In The Valley' to share with you.

Phantom In The Valley by howlinrain

And if that doesn't make you want to take the old canary yellow Ford Mustang Mach 1 for a spin round Nottingham Town Centre at 1mph above the legal speed limit, then nothing will.

The album which is coming out on Agitated Records was born of passion says Ethan Miller of the San Franciscan band: "There was a point when we were really trying to blend Jimi Hendrix's Electric Ladyland, Steely Dan's Gaucho and Bruce Springsteen's Darkness On The Edge of Town. I love the Boss' singing, where he's just blowing out his voice even when it's just a pop ballad moment. And we were inspired by some of the grooves and close mic stuff on Gaucho, and by how Electric Ladyland runs the gamut from super long jams to blues numbers to drifting psychedelic pieces."


  1. Self Made Man
  2. Phantom In The Valley
  3. Can't Satisfy Me Now
  4. Cherokee Werewolf
  5. Strange Thunder
  6. Plex Reception
  7. Dark Side
  8. Beneath Wild Wings
  9. Collage
  10. Walking Through Stone
  11. ...Still Walking, Still Stone

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.