The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Rough Trade Release Electronic Comp
The Quietus , December 15th, 2011 07:44

Electronic 11 for release on 16th January

Rough Trade Shops' latest compilation, Electronic 11, is due for release on the 16th January and looks set to be rather good. It gathers together a healthy selection of music we've been writing about over the past twelve months - everything from the synth-pop styles of Ford & Lopatin and John Maus through Azari & III's fat, disco-leaning house to some bleak, bracing industrial/noise from the likes of Pansonic and Ekoplekz.

Particular mention should go to Death Grips and Prurient, whose respective Exmilitary and Bermuda Drain albums landed high in our end of year chart, King Midas Sound's spooked dub take on Shackleton's 'Deadman' and Alva Noto's monochrome 'Uni Deform'.

The full tracklist runs as follows:

Rene Hell - 'Oxford Meter End'
Nicholas Jaar - 'Space Is Only Noise If You Can See'
Flying Lotus - '& The World Laughs With You ft. Thom Yorke'
Shackleton/King Midas Sound - 'Deadman (Death Dub)'
Ayshay - 'WARN-U'
John Maus - 'Head For The Country'
Ford & Lopatin - 'Emergency Room'
Rustie - 'Hyperthrust'
Hercules & Love Affair - 'My House'
Azari & III - 'Manhooker'
Modeselektor - 'Evil Twin'
Death Grips - 'Guillotine'
Sensational meets Koyxen - '+weekend2 (remix work)'
Alva Noto - 'Uni Deform'
Anne James Chaton - 'Pop Is Dead'
Marcus Schmickler - 'Discordance Axis'
Ekoplekz - 'Critical Condition'
Pansonic & Keiji Haino - 'If I Could Incarnate This Feeling Would You Consider It A Creation'
Prurient - 'A Meal Can Be Made'
Solar Bears - 'Twin Stars'
Mark McGuire - 'Alma (Reprise)/Chances Are'
Ben Frost - 'O God Protect Me'

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.