The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


New Amy Winehouse Album For December Release
The Quietus , October 31st, 2011 11:59

Singer to follow in the footsteps of Tupac Shakur with posthumous release of Lioness: Hidden Treasures

After her untimely death in July, a posthumous Amy Winehouse album is due for release on December 5th. Entitled Lioness: Hidden Treasures, It will gather together a number of collaborations, demos and brand new tracks from over the course of her career.

Lioness was put together by producers Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson (who also produced the album that propelled Winehouse into the big leagues, 2006's Back To Black), working with her family, management and record label Island.

Winehouse's father Mitch said of the album: "I spent so much time chasing after Amy, telling her off that I never realized what a true genius she was. It wasn’t until I sat down with the rest of the family and listened to this album that I fully appreciated the breadth of Amy’s talent, from jazz standards to hip hop songs, it really took my breath away. 'Halftime', I’d never heard before, is just incredibly beautiful. If the family had felt that this album wasn’t up to the standard of Frank and Back To Black we would never have agreed to release it and we believe it will stand as a fitting tribute to Amy's musical legacy."

A donation of £1 from each album bought in the UK will be donated to the Amy Winehouse Foundation, which was launched this September on what would have been the singer's 28th birthday.

The album's artwork and tracklist are as follows:

'Our Day Will Come [Reggae Version]'
'Between the Cheats' 
'Tears Dry'
'Wake Up Alone'
'Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow [ft. the Dap Kings]' 
'Like Smoke [ft. Nas]'
'The Girl From Ipanema'
'Best Friends'
'Body & Soul [ft. Tony Bennett]'
'A Song for You'