The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Noel Gallagher Announces Two Solo Albums
The Quietus , July 6th, 2011 06:11

Collaboration with Amorphous Androgynous is "as far out as I've been"

Former Oasis guitarist Noel Gallagher has just announced details of his first album since the split with brother Liam in 2009. Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds will release a self-titled album on October 17th - the first of two albums already in the can, according to the guitarist, who is speaking at a press conference in London. The albums were recorded in London and LA. Very interestingly as far as we're concerned, the second LP is a collaboration with the deeply cosmic Amorphous Androgynous. Read John Tatlock's prescient and great piece from 2009 on why they pointed the way forward for Noel Gallagher's creativity here. Did the Quietus predict Noel's future for him? Musicians on the record include drummer Jeremy Stacey, keyboard player Mikey Rowe, Becky Byrne, pedal steel guitarist Jon Graboff, Portuguese percussionist Luis Jardim and American percussionist Lenny Castro. Mark Neary will be playing double bass, saw, wine glasses, washboard and electric kettle on the record. Noel says that the second album is "some of it is vaudeville, some of it space jazz, some of it is krautrock, some of it is soul, and some of it's funk." Noel added: "and that's just the first song. It's as far out as I've been..." He also said "it's fucking far out, man."

The tracklist for Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds is as follows:

'Everybody's On The Run'
'Dream On'
'If I Had A Gun'
'The Death Of You And Me'
'(I Wanna Live In A Dream In My) Record Machine'
'AKA... What A Life'
'Soldier Boys And Jesus Freaks'
'AKA... Broken Arrow'
'(Stranded On) The Wrong Beach'
'Stop The Clocks'